"Dave conducts the occasional free basic car maintenance workshops, one of which I had the opportunity to attended on Saturday. Dave is incredibly honest and knowledgeable, and it is clear to see that he prioritizes the customer above all else. Giving up his time to conduct these made evident his passion for education, and that knowledge really is power in this industry. The workshop itself was comprehensive, thorough and highly enjoyable, and such an amazing opportunity.  Dave was a very patient and engaging (and a humorous enough) teacher. It means a lot being able to have the opportunity to learn about these things, as a female you often don't get the chance to understand what's going on under the bonnet. I learnt that you can't forgo safety for cost, which as a student is something you're always tempted to do. I would highly recommend any of Dave's services, and especially the workshops if you get the chance :)"

Lauren Turner - 15th July 2018



"Awesome service, quick and easy to book. Dave was friendly and went through what he had done with me. Highly recommend."

Gina Astbury - 9th May 2018


"Props to good guy Dave! He knows what he is doing and can also explain the situatiob in a good way. If you want a honest guy who can do a job well done, this is the place to go!"

Jonas Ohrn - 7th May 2018


"Really nice, honest, knowledgeable guy. Quick & easy to work with, definitely will be back next time!"

Elliot Blyth - 13th April 2018


"Dave's a top bloke and will look after your car and your wallet!!! Go to DNA autos for all your car needs!"

Alex Peterson - 12th April 2018


"Dave is true professional and also friendly and honest guy in general. Even if you know nothing about cars he will never try and sell you what you don`t need and will show and explain everything if you`re in doubt.

He came by recommendation to replace wheel barrings on my Subaru Outback when it failed WOF. Not only beaten other quotes but also was able to get the job done the very next day while others asked for up to a week to get the parts. Five star hands down."

Mikalai Dunets - 23 March 2018


"Friendly, clear and nice on the phone. Knows what he's talking about with a fair bit of humor too. Asked a fair price for a great job and lots of knowledge and skills in my opinion. Would totally recommend because he is straight to the point instead of a lot of other mechanics."

 Raymond Westerbeek - 24th March 2018


"Brilliant service, wouldn't take my car to anyone else. Honest, up front, friendly advice with an extremely high standard of work. Dave takes pride in what he does and it shows. Highly recommended."

Ryan Jess - 17th March 2018


"Thanks guys for a great job would highly recommend and look forward to more work to come"

Shayne McCormick - 17th March 2018


"Fast friendly service. Thanks again Dave"

Ross Henderson - 12 March 2018


"Dave is an absolute legend. I`m not not one to write reviews but Dave deserves nothing less than five stars. He was happy to help and took the time to walk me through everything that needed to be done and gave me a mini lesson in car repair. Along with doing a superb job, he`s the most honest mechanic I`ve ever had the pleasure to work with, billing me for the orginal quoted amount of hours even though it took far longer, and gooing above and beyond to ensure my vehicle was road safe and would get me where it needed to go. Looking forward to working with Dave on all my future mechanical needs.

Josh Burke 9 March 2018


Nice guy , always keen to help. Pop by and see him on Ward street

Ken Clayton - 19th February 2018


"Dave was amazing fixing my work truck after hours with short notice. Thanks for looking after us."

Daniel Bogdaski - 19th February 2018


"Quick, top quality work � I know where I'll be taking my car from now on!"

Zac Ledgerwood - 16th February 2018


"Awesome service an a great guy. Told me everything he did ,and felt very confident in his work. Highly recommend him to friends and family"

Daniel Glover - 10th February 2018


"I was having a few issues with my 1977 mini running a little ruff as this is my first mini I thought I better get it looked at properly and took it to see Dave and he had a quick look and sorted the problem then and there such a breeze and very knowledgeable with the old 1100 motor great guy and so easy to get on with I will be back cheers Dave"

Callum Dodds - 7th February 2018


"Had a frustrating knocking coming from the front if my car over bumps, had no idea what it was but thought i would take advantage of the advertised labor rates and get it checked out. Dave went for a test drive with me and managed to pin point the problem, quick turn around with parts and was clunk free by the end of the day! Only frustration was that I waited so long to get it checked out!!

Won't wait so long next time I have any quierys with my car!

Eloise Powell - 3rd February 2018


"I was stumped with a problem with my Subaru, Dave managed to diagnose and fix it in a short time and I was really happy to see the bill didn't break the bank.
Cheers Dave you are a life saver �� 5�"

Dave Tompkins - 3rd February 2018


"As someone who doesn't know much about cars, when I go to a mechanic, I usually end up emptying my wallet and not really knowing what is actually being done to my car. I had a much different experience at DNA auto services! 
Dave is friendly, honest, knowledgeable, and just generally a good guy. He did a great job prepping my van for a big road trip, taking the time to explain exactly what he was doing and showing me how to do some basic vehicle maintenance on my own. He even gave me a ride to work before working on my car, and promptly answered some questions I had even while he was out of the country. 
If you need a mechanic in Dunedin, Dave's your guy!"

Kelsey Minnig - 7 January 2018


"Highly recommended for friendly, prompt and affordable service. Knowledge and passion is second to none."

Tom Vlaardingerbroek - 10 December 2017


"Dave is a honest and friendly mechanic, he done the work really quick and I'm happy that I had choose the DNA auto service."

Bas Ti - 7th December 2017


"Anyone in the Dunedin area looking for some rust removal and what not, this is the place to go. Did a bang up job getting my ol’ girl road legal again. Honest mechanic and very reasonable pricing 10/10 would recommend �"

Libby Victoria - 30 November 2017